What is GoKick.Me?

We are a platform that motivates people to accomplish their goals. Individuals can set a goal for themselves or others, and share their goal with family and friends. Anyone is able to contribute money to help encourage the accomplishment of the goal, and the funds are only distributed if the goal is marked complete, otherwise, the funds are returned.

Who decides when a goal is complete?

The campaign creator is responsible for determining when a goal is satisfactorily accomplished. You might ask yourself, what happens when the campaign creator lies? Well, they will probably lose all their friends and never again be able to convince their former friends to contribute money to a campaign.

What if supporters back out right as I’m about to accomplish my goal?

We get it. We all have that family member who talks big game but is likely going to back out at the last second. To prevent this, all fund donations are transacted at the time they are pledged.

I just completed my goal, how do I receive the funds?

Only the person who created the campaign can mark it as complete- if you created the campaign, that would be you. After logging in, click the link that says “Complete this Campaign” for the appropriate campaign. The person receiving the money should get an email by the end of the day that the money has been sent via PayPal. If you do not have a PayPal account, you can follow the links in the email to create an account.

What happens if the goals are not accomplished in the needed time frame?

When a campaign fails, the money raised is returned to the supporters, less the transaction fee.

How much does the platform cost?

It is free to create a GoKick.Me page. You can create and launch as many campaigns as you’d like to without ever being charged. There are no upfront costs or hidden fees.

We do however, charge a fee of 5% or $1.00, whichever is greater, on all pledges of money. Since our fee is deducted automatically, you’ll never need to worry about being billed or owing us any money.

Can I keep my campaign private?

The campaign creator can choose to “Make a Campaign Private” which makes the URL link the only way to find the page. You can then text or email the link to whoever you want to share it with. Keep in mind that anyone with the link will be able to see the campaign.

Our developers are working on a private campaign that only allows certain people to see it, but it’ll take a good amount of time (and Mountain Dews) before they are finished.